Skip to content
photos related to autism and publications about it
Report to Congress Cover 2018

Report to Congress

on Activities Related to Autism Spectrum Disorder and Other Developmental Disabilities

FY 2014 - FY 2018

Required Elements of the Report to Congress (FY 2014 - FY 2018)

In addition to a summary of the role of the OARC, IACC, and NAC in coordinating ASD efforts, this Report to Congress provides an overview of each federal agency that supports projects or programs related to ASD, as well as highlights information on current ASD prevalence estimates, the present diagnostic and intervention landscape, ongoing efforts in ASD supports and services, and strategies to address the continuing needs of diverse ASD communities.

With data from 21 federal departments and agencies, this report addresses ASD research and services according to the required elements outlined in the Autism CARES Act (see page 2 for a complete list of required elements). Elements (A) and (B) and have been combined into one chapter covering the general progress made and amounts expended during the past 5 years in federal ASD research efforts by lead agencies and offices. Elements (G) and (H) have been combined into one chapter covering the effectiveness and outcomes of interventions for individuals with ASD.

Federal Departments and Agencies included in this Report

  • Department of Health and Human Services [HHS]
    • Administration for Children and Families [ACF]
    • Administration for Community Living [ACL]
    • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality [AHRQ]
    • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention [CDC]
    • Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services [CMS]
    • Food and Drug Administration [FDA]
    • Health Resources and Services Administration [HRSA]
    • Indian Health Service (IHS)
    • National Institutes of Health [NIH]
    • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration [SAMHSA]
  • Department of Education [ED]
  • Department of Defense [DoD]
    • Army (DoD-Army)
    • Air Force (DoD-Air Force)
    • Military Health System (MHS)/TRICARE
  • Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
  • Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
  • Department of Justice (DOJ)
  • Department of Labor (DOL)
  • National Science Foundation (NSF)
  • Social Security Administration (SSA)
  • Department of Transportation (DOT)

Back to Top